modular, self-sufficient and mobile - a small house with minimal footprint.
Newsletter
Newsletter

Concept

The LIVO project was developed as part of the diploma thesis at the Institute Industrial Design at the FHNW School of Art and Design.

The basic idea was to plan and design a mobile and as self-sufficient as possible dwelling to enable an interim use of an industrial wasteland. The topicality of this idea can be read in the daily media: Environmental pollution, affluent society, unnecessary consumption, lack of space and urban housing shortage are just a few keywords that describe part of the problems of today. In the area of housing, a change is currently taking place, which has led to new forms of housing and their manifestations through a variety of influences. The term small housing form is becoming more and more widespread. In this context, environmental protection, recycling, sustainability and the "cradle to cradle" philosophy are more relevant than ever.

Our philosophy

The house

Building shell

The Holz100 construction method of the Austrian forest engineer and entrepreneur Erwin Thoma is used for the production of the house walls. Thoma Holz100 elements are 320mm thick, flat wooden building elements consisting of layers of boards and squared timber arranged parallel, crosswise (at right angles) and at 45°, connected to each other by hardwood dowels made of beech. The solid wood panels are used as load-bearing, bracing or non-load-bearing wall, ceiling, roof components. Glue-free, of course. A rear-ventilated larch formwork is used as the exterior facade.

Interior materials

The furniture and interior design are made with solid wood components. The walls in the bathroom are lined with clay wall panels. A linseed oil varnish treatment provides a natural seal against water. Clay wall panels are used as low temperature heating. The window frames are made of oak wood, the toilet and lavabos are made of ceramic. The stove is made of steel and will be used for cooking, baking and heating.

Modules

Rooftop

Rooftop

10m2 are available for PV modules, solar boiler, constructed wetland or green roof.

Terrace

Terrace

Sunbathe, enjoy a far-reaching view or take care of the roof garden. A lot of light enters the interior of the house through the sliding skylight. In addition, through the sunroof window you get access to the 10m2 terrace. A narrower long window located above the kitchen serves as an extractor for the kitchen and provides a pleasant ventilation of the house.

Kitchen

Kitchen

On 7m2 area can be cooked with two long kitchen elements. In spring, summer and autumn the gas hobs are used. The gas for this comes from our own mini-biogas plant from the Ernergiebox. In the winter months the wood stove hotplates can be used alternatively. The flue gas boiler provides hot water for the house in winter. The kitchen has a dishwasher and an oven. To save electricity in the winter months, the oven can also be used as an oven.

Livingroom

Livingroom

The 160cm round window with a 60cm deep sill, serves as a lounger to relax and read a book. The table is accompanied by a 2-seater bench and two stools, providing seating for 4 people. The size of the table top can be varied by extending or retracting it under the kitchen step. Furthermore, the table top can be freely removed and converted into a temporary guest bed together with the stools and the bench. The wood stove as a fireplace provides a cozy warmth. A panoramic window provides enough light and view on the south side.

Bathroom / Entrance / Storage

Bathroom / Entrance / Storage

In this module is the entrance door. This module contains almost all water-bearing elements of the house. Shower, sink, toilet, washing machine and a heat exchanger for heating are installed here. Hidden in the partition between the entrance and the bathroom are all the pipes to the kitchen. A small mirrored wall cabinet is used to store the care utensils. The sliding door to the bathroom is also located in the partition. In the back of the wardrobe, this module still has storage space for cleaning utensils and vacuum cleaner.

Sleepingroom

Sleepingroom

In the bedroom there is room for a double bed with two storage boxes side by side. Above the bed is another 3m3 of storage space for seasonal clothing or sports equipment, for example. The wall furniture is multifunctional and serves as a closet for clothes, as an office workstation and as a staircase. A window door provides floor-level access to the garden. A small fresh air opening on the north side of the house provides fresh air here. Inspired by Japanese studio spaces, the small office desk sits at a corner window with a view outside.

Energybox

Energybox

Storage volume for water treatment (4m3), mini-biogas plant (3m3) and the salt water battery (5m3). The house is supplied with electricity, water and gas through the energy box. The water is to be kept in the cycle. By means of a constructed wetland on the roof and a carbon filter in the energy box it will be recycled to drinking water. In the mini-biogas plant, food scraps and feces are turned into methane gas by microorganisms. This in turn can be used for cooking. The residual liquid of the mini-biogas plant can be used as fertilizer (slurry) in the garden or greenhouse. A saltwater battery (redox flow battery) serves as power storage. This is particularly environmentally friendly thanks to the easy recyclability of the electrolyte fluids and, compared to battery storage, it cannot burn. The photovoltaic cells (12m2) on the roof provide the necessary energy through the sun.

Foundation

Foundation

In order to place the house in virtually any desired location, screw foundations made of galvanized steel are used. Adapted to the particular soil conditions, these foundations can be easily rotated out of the ground and reused after the house is moved. The resulting hole is filled with fresh soil and planted a tree.

About us

Damian Breitenstein

Damian Breitenstein

Founder, Managing Director & Project Manager

Industrial Designer, Self-employed craftsman in the field of wood construction and upcycling projects over 10 years

damian@projekt-livo.ch
Pierre Strub

Pierre Strub

Business Partner & Project Partner

Self-employed. Owner and founder of several start-ups. Over 25 years of experience with the development and implementation of innovative services and projects. Many years of experience in the sustainable buissnes, strongly connected to sustainability leaders in different industries Master in Enviromentel sciences ETH

pierre@nachhaltigwirkt.ch
Carlos Samayoa

Carlos Samayoa

Project Partner

Extensive experience in supporting innovation within startups. Key focus on defining and implementing growth strategies and organizational change.

carlos@projekt-livo.ch

Media

Our project on «We Make It»

Our project on «We Make It»

Telebasel - Fascination Tiny House

Telebasel - Fascination Tiny House

modular, autark und mobil - ein Kleinbauhaus mit minimalem Fussabdruck.
Newsletter
Newsletter

Konzept

Das Projekt LIVO ist im Rahmen der Diplomarbeit am Institute Industrial Design an der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst der FHNW entstanden.

Die Grundidee war eine mobile und möglichst autarke Behausung zu planen und gestalten, um eine Zwischennutzung einer Industriebrache zu ermöglichen. Die Aktualität dieser Idee ist in den täglichen Medien abzulesen: Umweltverschmutzung, Überflussgesellschaft, unnötiger Konsum, Platzmangel und städtische Wohnungsnot sind nur ein paar Stichworte, welche einen Teil der Probleme der heutigen Zeit beschreiben. Im Bereich des Wohnens findet zur Zeit ein Wandel statt, welcher durch verschiedenste Einflüsse zu neuen Wohnformen und deren Erscheinungen geführt hat. Der Begriff Kleinwohnform findet mehr und mehr Verbreitung. In diesem Zusammenhang ist Umweltschutz, Recycling, Nachhaltigkeit und die „Cradle to cradle“-Philosophie aktueller denn je.

Unsere Philosopie

Das Haus

Gebäudehülle

Inspiriert duch den österreichischen Forstingenieur und Unternehmer Erwin Thoma wird für die Produktion der Hauswände eine Vollholzkonstruktion angewendet. Massive, flächige Holzbauteile werden parallel, kreuzweise (rechtwinklig) und unter 45° Winkel zu den unterschiedlichen Lagen von Bretthölzern angeordnet und durch Hartholzdübel aus Buche miteinander verbundenen. Die Massivholzplatten werden als tragende, aussteifende oder nichttragende Wand-, Decken-, Dachbauteile verwendet. Leimfrei wohlverstanden.

Innenausbaumaterialien

Die Möbel und die Innenraumgestaltung werden mit Massivholzbauteilen ausgeführt. Die Wände im Badezimmer sind mit Lehmwandplatten ausgekleidet. Durch eine Leinölfirnis Behandlung wird eine natürliche Versiegelung gegen Wasser erreicht. Lehmwandheizplatten werden als Niedertemperaturheizung verwendet. Die Fensterrahmen sind aus Eichenholz, das WC und die Lavabos aus Keramik. Der Ofen besteht aus Stahl und wird zum kochen, backen und heizen verwendet werden.

Module

Dachfläche

Dachfläche

10m2 stehen für PV-Module, Solarboiler, Pflanzenkläranlage oder Dachbegrünung zur Verfügung.

Terrasse

Terrasse

Sonnenbaden, Weitsicht geniessen oder den Dachgarten pflegen. Viel Licht gelangt durch das Schiebedachfenster ins Innere des Hauses. Ausserdem erhält man durch das Schiebedachfenster Zugang auf die 10m2 grosse Terrasse. Ein schmaleres, oberhalb der Küche angebrachtes langes Fenster dient als Abzug für die Küche und sorgt für eine angenehme Durchlüftung des Hauses.

Küche

Küche

Auf 7m2 Fläche kann mit zwei langen Küchenelemten gekocht werden. Im Frühling, Sommer und Herbst werden die Gaskochfelder genützt. Das Gas dafür kommt aus der eigenen Minibiogasanlage aus der Ernergiebox. In den Wintermonaten können die Holzofenkochplatten alternativ genutzt werden. Der Rauchgasboiler sorgt im Winter für die Warmwasserproduktion des Hauses. Die Küche besitzt eine Geschirrwaschmaschine und einen Backofen. Um Strom zu sparen kann in den Wintermonaten der Ofen ebenfalls als Backofen genutzt werden.

Wohnen

Wohnen

Das 160cm grosse Rundfenster mit einem 60cm tiefen Fensterbrett, dient als Liege zum entspannen und Buch lesen. Zum Tisch gehören die 2er-Sitzbank sowie zwei Hocker und bieten für 4 Personen Sitzmöglichkeiten. Die Tischplattengrösse lässt sich variieren indem sie, unter der Küchenstufe liegend, weiter heraus- oder hineingezogen werden kann. Weiter lässt sich die Tischplatte frei herausnehmen und mit den Hockern, sowie der Sitzbank zu einem temporären Gästebett umwandeln. Der Holzofen als Feuerstelle sorgt für eine wohlige Wärme. Ein Panoramafenster sorgt südseitig für genügend Licht und Aussicht.

Bad / Eingang / Stauraum

Bad / Eingang / Stauraum

In diesem Modul befindet sich die Eingangstüre. Dieses Modul beinhaltet fast alle wasserführenden Elemente des Hauses. Dusche, Lavabo, WC, Waschmaschine und ein Wärmetauscher für die Heizung sind hier verbaut. Versteckt in der Trennwand zwischen Eingang und Bad befinden sich alle Leitungen zur Küche. Ein kleiner Spiegelwandschrank dient zum Aufbewahren der Pflegeutensilien. Die Schiebtüre zum Bad ist ebenfalls in der Trennwand untergebracht. Im hinteren Teil der Garderobe findet sich in diesem Modul noch Stauraum zur Aufbewahrung von Putzutensilien und Staubsauger.

Schlafen

Schlafen

Im Schlafzimmer findet ein Doppelbett mit zwei Storageboxen nebeneinanderliegend Platz. Über dem Bett befindet sich nochmals 3m3 Stauraum für beispielsweise saisonale Bekleidung oder Sportequipment. Das Wandmöbel ist multifunktional und dient als Wandschrank für Kleider, als Büroarbeitsplatz und als Treppe. Eine Fenstertüre ermöglicht den bodenebenen Zugang in den Garten. Eine kleine Frischluftöffnung auf der Nordseite des Hauses versorgt hier das Haus mit Frischluft. Inspiriert von japanischen Atelierplätzen steht der kleine Bürotisch an einem Eckfenster mit Blick nach draussen.

Energiebox

Energiebox

Stauvolumen für die Wasseraufbereitung (4m3), Minibiogasanlage (3m3) und die Salzwasserbatterie (5m3). Das Haus wird über die Energiebox mit Strom, Wasser und Gas versorgt. Das Wasser soll im Kreislauf gehalten werden. Mittels Pflanzenkläranlage auf dem Dach und Kohlefilter in der Energiebox wird es wieder zu Trinkwasser aufbereitet. In der Minibiogasanlage werden Essensreste und Fäkalien durch Mikroorganismen zu Methangas verwertet. Dieses wiederum kann zum kochen verwendet werden. Die Restflüssigkeit der Minibiogasanlage kann als Dünger (Jauche) im Garten oder Gewächshaus verwendet werden. Als Stromspeicher dient eine Salzwasserbatterie (Redox-Flow-Batterie). Diese ist dank der einfachen Rezyklierbarkeit der Elektrolytflüssigkeiten besonders umweltfreundlich und kann im Vergleich zu Akkuspeichern nicht brennen. Die Photovoltaikzellen (12m2) auf dem Dach liefern die nötige Energie durch die Sonne.

Fundament

Fundament

Um das Haus an praktisch jedem gewünschten Ort platzieren zu können, werden Schraubfundamente aus verzinktem Stahl verwendet. An die jeweiligen Bodenbedingungen angepasst, lassen sich diese Fundamente nach dem Umzug des Hauses einfach wieder aus dem Boden drehen und wiederverwenden. Das dadurch entstandene Loch wird mit frischer Erde aufgefüllt und ein Baum gepflanzt.

Über uns

Damian Breitenstein

Damian Breitenstein

Geschäftsführer & Projektleiter

Industrial Designer, ehemaliger Pädagoge und selbständiger Handwerker im Bereich Holzbau.

damian@projekt-livo.ch
Pierre Strub

Pierre Strub

Geschäftspartner & Projektpartner

nachhaltig wirkt. Inhaber und Gründer​, über 25 Jahre Erfahrung mit der Entwicklung und Umsetzung innovativer Dienstleistungen und Projekte.

pierre@nachhaltigwirkt.ch
Carlos Samayoa

Carlos Samayoa

Projektpartner

Umfassende Erfahrung in der Unterstützung von Innovationen in Start-ups. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Definition und Umsetzung von Wachstumsstrategien und organisatorischen Veränderungen.

carlos@projekt-livo.ch

Medien

Unser Projekt auf «We Make It»

Unser Projekt auf «We Make It»

Telebasel - Faszination Tiny House

Telebasel - Faszination Tiny House